GAM 2017 Blog

By Kimberly Cullen

When ever I get asked “So Kim, what do you do?” I generally say “I’m an astronomer (or astrophysicist if I want to sound super smart or theoretical astrophysicist if I really want to take someone down a peg) by trade and now I work as a science communicator”.  Usually at this point I get asked “What’s a science communicator?” which is something we can get into another time…  What I want to talk about is what an astronomer does on a day to day basis.

What do you think about when you think of what an astronomer does every day?  Take some time here to daydream.  What did you come up with?  Most people who are not involved in the industry (yes, astronomy is an industry) usually imagine someone sitting up all night every night looking through telescopes.  Spoiler alert: This is not the case.

There are two major “fields” or “areas of study” in astronomy – you’re either an “observational” astronomer where you get to use telescopes (optical, radio, gamma, etc) to collect data or a “theoretical” astronomer where you get to use amazing computers (called super computers) to run simulations of how the universe, galaxies, etc are formed, evolve, die etc.  Within each of these there are of course intricacies and subcategories however today I’m going to keep it this broad.

Each of these areas of study have their own idiosyncrasies and neither one involves looking through a telescope each and every night – not even observational astronomers are “observing” all the time.  In fact theoretical astronomers almost never use telescopes.  On a daily basis, astronomers spend most of their time doing one of two things – analysing the data they’ve collected or researching what is happening and being discovered in their niche area of astronomy by reading other astronomers published papers.